Statement about my forced absence from Sólstafir

When I woke up on the morning of 20. January and looked at my emails I expected to find an email with my flight details for the Sólstafir tour that was supposed to start the day after. What I found instead was an email from Aðalbjörn Tryggvason, signed by him and the rest of my now ex-bandmates telling me I was fired from the band that I‘ve poured my sweat, blood and tears into for the last 20 years because of communication problems between us that were unjustly being blamed solely on me and me alone.

I called the airline and found out that my ticket had been cancelled without me knowing it. In a state of panic I quickly bought a new ticket, refusing to acknowledge Aðalbjörn’s right to kick me out of a band that I had formed with him 20 years earlier. Aðalbjörn’s response was to make it clear to me that he would refuse to perform on stage with me and this would irrevocably harm the band and ruin any chance of reconciliation between us. Loving the band that I have dedicated my life to I decided it would be worth it to try and solve this matter with worlds instead of war.
I begged them please not to do this, this was not the right way to handle things, but was only given the vague answer that they‘d maybe be willing to reconsider this in a month, or maybe in 6 months or a year, maybe, just maybe. I was forced to sit quietly at home and witness my life‘s work being taken away from me while it was made clear to me that if I’d speak out about this injustice in public I’d have ruined my chance of ever returning to the band.
By this they were trying to get rid of me in a quiet and painless manner (for them), releasing a bullshit statement (hidden inside a start-of- the-tour Facebook post) that I was absent from the on-going tour for personal reasons, telling people to refrain from asking questions. No questions asked, no consequences for them and I was being threatened to shut the hell up.

While the rest of the band was on tour I sat quietly at home, unable to speak out because of their threats of taking away my chance to regain the purpose of my life. But by every day the hope faded and it became increasingly clear to me that I was being kept in a prison of false hope with the penalty of total excommunication dared I speak out.
It became crystal clear to me that Aðalbjörn had no interest in reconciliation when I found out that the very next day he had applied for a patent of the name Sólstafir in his own personal name and I.D., not in the name of our company that runs the band and not with the signature of any other band members. Had I not discovered this by chance (a lawyer friend checking on the name Sólstafir in the Icelandic firm registry) he would have gained 100% intellectual and monetary control over the name and the brand that I had done more than my fair share to create.

Note that Aðalbjörn says he called Sæþór and Svavar to a meeting at Sæþór’s house on the evening on January 19th and they subsequently sent me the email shortly before midnight. Knowing it was my girlfriend’s birthday they must have known I was out for the night and wouldn’t read the email until late the next day. In fact I had been speaking to her on the phone next to Aðalbjörn a couple of days before about what restaurant we should go to. The very next day, before I had read the email Aðalbjörn had already submitted his patent application. This goes to tell that Aðalbjörn’s story doesn’t add up and that he had been dishonest about his intent.

During this time I tried time and again to reach some sort of agreement with Aðalbjörn. I even booked a session for the whole band with a family councillor upon their return and hoped that we could talk things out with the guidance of professionals.
We were given one and a half hour session, to discuss a decision that has had a bigger impact on me than any other event in my life so far. Despite the short time we were given, my ex-band members showed up 15 minutes too late. The weather was indeed kinda shitty that day, but then you just leave earlier.
Once we were all there the councillor said that if things would get heated we’d just take a 5 minute brake, calm down and start again. Aðalbjörn replayed to this with resentment stating that if things would get heated he would leave immediately. So big was his desire to reach an agreement. After sitting quietly listening to the others speak it was my turn to speak and like clockwork Svavar Austmann started interrupting me and finally stood up and stormed out and Aðalbjörn then made good on his threat and proclaimed this the meeting’s end. Thus ended our session with no results, and little or no attempt to reach any conclusion.
While Aðalbjörn was putting on his jacket, before he could storm out I managed to ask him if there was anything he had not been honest about that perhaps he’d like to tell me now. His answer was no. No? I asked. What about trying to get a patient for the Sólstafir name in your own personal name and I.D.? Obviously he had thought he was home free and got very upset and defensive by me asking this, and aggravatedly barked at me “you’re not in this band anymore”. We’ll see about that I said, and besides I still have some right regarding the use of the name and logo on merchandise and other things. His answer was short and to the point: Then get a lawyer! And with that he stormed out.

I dropped by at Aðalbjörns house the night after our failed meeting. I couldn’t believe he really wanted to go this way and thought that maybe we could sit down and talk about things, but no money talk allowed. He wasn’t at home but obviously his mother told him I had dropped by so he called me later that night. Again I was very careful to stay calm, because my one and only wish was to resolve this matter. I could not believe that someone that I used to consider my best friend and brother really wanted to fight me in court. But again, to my disappointment that was his clearly stated will.
So I lawyered up.

My aim from the start was to not give up on negotiating a deal. I have made several attempts to do so but have been met with silence or (in one case) “negotiations” that add insult to injury.
Aðalbjörn’s idea of a deal was to buy me out for an amount way less than it coasted me buying an I.D. for the company, which I and I alone paid for with my student loans. At that time it was quite common that I paid things for the band with my student loans. I am the only member of the band that has in that way put my own money to use for the band and had it not been for that the band could not have toured and played festivals and would have broken up as a result.
My last offer, which was in my opinion more than fair, went unanswered.

So this is where I stand today. I have been forced out of the band that I dedicated my whole adult life to. I am left with a huge personal debt for pursuing my right (and the matter hasn’t even been prepared for trail, I’ve just been trying to negotiate). On top of that our company, that I am now alone financially responsible for is in debt too, of which the biggest part is for flights and tours I wasn’t even on. I am not getting paid for any merchandise sale (even though I personally designed most of it) and I’m not even getting paid for albums sold on tours that are bought by the band from the label by deducting their price from all of our royalties, including mine. I get no appreciation for all the work and sacrifices I have put into this band, which is a LOT more than you see on the surface. This has affected every single aspect of my life, down to the core of my existence and my self-image, my identity. I really don’t know who or what I am right now.
And Aðalbjörn even dared to tell me to just move on and do something else, like I had just lost a job at the local gas station and would just go work in the local supermarket instead. Let’s not kid anyone, I am 37 years old and have been in this band more than half my life, since I was 16. It took 20 years of super hard work, dedication and personal sacrifices to get here. I am not just going to form another band and act as if nothing happened.
He has also excused his action by comparing it to a love relationship, saying the love just isn’t there anymore as if that can justify his action.
You do have a choice of whom you have a romantic relationship with and to an extent you do have a choice whom you work with. Nobody can force you to work with someone you don’t like. But please realize that growing apart from someone doesn’t allow you to take away his/her life’s work and continuing it on your own. Aðalbjörn’s excuse to do that has been to say that there simply was too much at stake, that the band would eventually have broken up had he not taken this unjust action. Well, the band is not a sovereign being, it is an extension of the people who have put their work into it. Thus it cannot be justifiable to rob one person of the chance to enjoy the fruit of his labour while the others keep on going like nothing has happened.

I am not innocent of behaviour that has led to the problem we face today, we are all guilty of that, but unlike them I admit my guilt and only ask that I am not made a scapegoat to be blamed for all that has gone wrong.

It has pained me beyond believe that I have not been able to answer your questions about my absence from the band because of their threats and because I wanted to do everything humanly possible to solve this matter. I didn’t want this to become a public shitstorm fought over the internet. But while I do believe certain matters do not concern the fans, this is not one of them. You choose to support a band by paying for their concerts, paying for their music and paying for their merchandise. In that way you are the band’s employer. They might not make their music for you, but you enable them to keep on making music, and that earns you the right to know what is going on within the band.
Please know that the band have very deliberately tried to sweep this under the carpet. They have ignored questions and even deleted comments on their social media pages.

So it looks like this is the end of my involvement with the music business. I won’t miss the business side at all but I’ll miss all the wonderful people I’ve met around the world, and I’ll miss doing what I love, playing the music that I love.
If you do like to stay in touch however you can do so through my photography pages:
http://www.facebook.com/kuggurart and twitter.com/KuggurArt

Before I stop ranting I want to address one thing. I’ve come across comments on the internet (yes I do google myself sometimes) saying that there’s not much loss in me. To those of you saying that I just want to tell you that I can honestly understand why you think so. I am totally aware of my limitations as a drummer (and believe me my confidence as one has systematically been torn down by Aðalbjörn over the last 20 years). I know there is a long line of drummers willing to take my place, probably all of them better than me, but would they have wanted to do that 5 years ago, or 10 years ago? I really doubt it. What you don’t see is all the work I have done for the band behind the scenes. I could go on and on about my role in establishing the name Sólstafir through endless work on social medias, making videos, designing posters and merchandise, operating the merchandise store, packing and posting every single order myself, etc. Since I created our first Myspace page I have handled 99% of the band’s social media. Aðalbjörn, and recently their manager have occasionally posted something on Facebook but did never even once log into Twitter or take time to answer fan comments. Now they’ve got a guy in Ireland doing their homepage and posting on social media and booking agents posting show details directly – all this used to be handled by me.
I also built and managed the band’s merchandise store, which has kept the band financially afloat for the last 5 years. Up until a few months ago I hand folded and packed every single t-shirt and brought them to the post office.
The band is now riding on a wave I had a big part in creating. Sólstafir wouldn’t be where they are today without the music, but they also wouldn’t be where they are today without my endless p.r. work over the last 20 years. It’s always been my believe that the most important part in success is getting the name out there. And that is what I’ve worked towards for 20 years. You don’t go and see a band you’ve never heared of before, now do you? But just seeing the name around might invoke your curiosity to go check it out. This is the same simple methood big brand corporations use to ensure their product is always in your mind.
This work has been both selfless and selfish at the same time. Selfless because I’ve worked harder than anyone within the band to get the name out there, and selfish because I wanted to enjoy the fruids of success with my bandmates. (When I say success I don’t mean money and fame for their own sake, I mean being able to do what you love doing on a full-time basis.)
I have never been in this for personal glory and those that know me well know that I even felt uncomfortible at first when the bands growing success ment more personal attention.
And that brings me to one last thing. The personal attention.

The hardest thing about making this statement is bringing all the personal attention upon myself. I feel like I’ve failed and now it’s being brought up for everyone to see. Those who know me well know I’m an extremely closed person when it comes to my feelings and other personal matters. I loved talking to the fans about our music, not because I felt it made me somehow better or more interesting than the fans, but on the contrary because I saw it as a common interest and I felt honoured and privileged to be a part of it. It was something that brought me close to other people I felt were my equals and I viewed as friends. Sure I can’t be a close personal friend with all the fans, but I always talked to them on that level, and sure enough some of you have become my friends beyond the confines of this band.
The hardest thing I’ve done in my life is admitting how much destructive influence my unjust departure from the band has had on me. I feel so ashamed of having failed in front of all to see. I feel ashamed to admit how vulnerable I really am and how little control I have over my own life’s work and my destiny. Admitting that I am week enough to let this plunge me into an abyss of suicidal depression is therefore not a cry for attention. I don’t want the attention, but I want you, my friends, to know the truth.

To you Aðalbjörn I want to say this directly: I suspect this statement will be met with an attack on my personality. Although I have to get this statement off my chest I will not be dragged down to the level of fighting in public. I never wanted to drag the name of my beloved band through the mud. Everything I’ve said and done after I was unjustly fired has been and effect OF the fact and therefore cannot be a cause FOR the fact as you have tried to twist it around to be! You cannot justify your action by pointing at my reaction! This statement is my long held-back reaction. Now instead of using my reaction to justify your initial action I challenge you to take this opportunity to sit down with me and work out our differences, be the better man. I am in no way perfect, far from it, and I have made my mistakes, but so has each and every one of you. Do I not deserve that after 25 years of friendship? Does the band not deserve that after 20 years of extremely hard work and personal sacrifices on both our behalves? I hope you can see that the punishment does not fit the crime!

I’ll leave you all with one thing that’s been stuck in my mind since Aðalbjörn said it to me on 20th January: “I know you can’t see it right now, but this will be the best thing that ever happened to you!”
I can assure you all, it is not!

Yours
Guðmundur Óli Pálmason

Standard

197 thoughts on “Statement about my forced absence from Sólstafir

  1. Pingback: Sólstafir despidieron en enero a su batería | Cinco Músicos

  2. L. says:

    I’m not here to take sides for the truth is an individual sight to behold, but regardless of how this feud turns out, whatever you did well for Sólstafir do it with your life, forgive and forget if this chapter is through and wherever you may wander, if the magic is yours, yours it shall remain. The proof is how well you commit to doing what you love without letting the foulness of business and false stardom tarnish your art. Hope it all goes for the best, man.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. J. says:

    A late reply but I figured I should post this anyway, hope it’s any consolation. I first attended a Sólstafir show in 2008 and was blown away. Saw you guys pretty much every year since then and every time was just great. Except for the last two: Roadburn 2015. Walked out on both shows, they were a real let-down. The holy fire seemed missing and I guess that all had to do with your departure from the band. Lost me as a fan alright.

    Take care, brother.

    Like

  4. A. says:

    I experienced some very big disappointments in my life. I always survived and things turned out to be good or ever better in the end. Try not to be too depressed because of some idiots who once called themselves friends. There are a lot of people who always liked you more than any other band member of Sólstafir. You are a very sympatico and there are a lot of people who stand behind and support you.
    Try to look optimistic into the future. Life always goes on.
    Best wishes for you, my friend. Be strong.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Daniel says:

    Damn. Really sucks to hear this. I saw Solstafir at Metaldays 2013. I thought it was a great concert and was really looking forward to seeing Solstafir -as it used to be – this year in the Netherlands. Now I’m not sure what to make of that band. But you know, you got a lot of support from the fans, and many of us would like you to continue making awesome music! Keep doing what you’re doing!

    Since this is such a serious occasion, however, there are two things I wonder about.: Did your previous bandmembers make a statement concerning this post yet? And furthermore, how come you are using the Solstafir account? If its passive aggressive behaviour, I think its great 😀

    Sincerely,
    Daniel

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, their manager posted something from her home in Stockholm (they didn’t even bother to do it themselves) you can find it on their facebook page. I am using this account and our original Twitter (which I’ve offered them to take control of once this matter is settled) because I made every single social media page this band uses! They blocked me on facebook but as they never once signed into Twitter (although I asked them many times to help me manage it) they didn’t know how to block me there. I have no intent using these accounts once this matter is settled, but until then I need an outlet for my voice.

      Like

  6. Raphael says:

    Guðmundur, that’s SO sad to hear. After reading your words Solstafir has just lost a true fan that spent quite a bit of his money for merch (that YOU sent me personally) and concerts. I’m pretty speechless. All i can say is i love you and your work that is full of heart and soul and i always will. ❤

    Like

  7. Pedro says:

    This is really sad. Until last week I knew about your departure from the band, and checking this makes me feel sad and angry at the same time, because what happened to you, happened to me too, but with a different aspect of my life.

    I don’t know if after this I can support a band that makes something like this to one of the members (specially when all of the members were against you, as it seems). I remember one day you’ve given a nice comment on Youtube to someone who’ve made Fjara cover. I can testify your presence at social media.

    It is hard to tell this, because it seems like Sólstafir was your life project, but it is better to close the chapter, turn the page and write a new and better one (or at least try to recover that feeling that you had when you were with the band). This advice was given by my old grandpa (rest in peace), which thanks to it, I’m still alive (yep, those were hard times, but I could recover myself then). So then, even if you are not into music anymore, do what you want to do (without hurting anybody) and do you best! I was looking at @KuggurArt and it is a nice work!

    Take care dude, you still have a nice life to live, don’t let this domine you, just take it as an experience and make something better from it!

    Cheers from Costa Rica

    Like

  8. Pingback: It’s been over a month now and absolutely nothing has changed | Sólstafir

  9. Pingback: Novinky 8-7-15 | Sicmaggot

  10. Pingback: Sólstafirs trummis och medgrundare har sparkats - CrankItUp

  11. Z says:

    I’ve just begun to listen to this band…and I’m sorry to see what amounts to workplace bullying/mobbing/gaslighting ruining some stunning music and a life along with it. Good luck to you and please don’t give up on making music.

    Like

  12. Mi says:

    I found Sólstafir few months ago and was in top of the world; such amazing and totally mesmerizing music! I went to see a gig here in Finland just few weeks ago and was happy to see the band for the first time. Because the band was so new to me, I couldn’t think any differencies in the playing because songs always sounds little bit different live. I was so into the music and the band I started to search more info about it and I came across to this ugly thing what has happened to you. All the joy of finding Sólstafir kinda faded. I cannot believe they have treated you this way. And I realized that all the songs I have listened and loved includes you; now when they have done this to you, the songs are bitter in my ears. How they can play these songs or tour like nothing has happened..? I’m so angry for you.. I hope you know that you are an amazing musician and you are irreplaceable in the minds of true Sólstafir fans. I send you all the love and courage in the world for you to get over this and getting justice you deserve.

    Like

  13. Orestis Esperinos says:

    Well, dear friend. This is utmost sad news.

    I wouldn’t normally bother to write anything about this, apart from some important reasons, giving me the right to do so.

    First of all, I consider Solstafir, being the best band in this blue planet, some years now.

    Second, I find your Statement, really Touching and Honest.

    —Thus, I feel obliged to state the following.

    I saw Solstafir in Athens this February, and well, there was a guy saying to me when I came to the gig “We ‘ll be, sadly, missing their sweet “matting-haired” drummer tonight. Guess there’s some little trouble.”

    Mate. I Cannot possibly Claim, that I presume to Know what were the Issues between you, and the other guys in the band.

    I have to say that, close relationships, in this level, yes, they do look alike a love affair.

    And its pretty Shitty to seperate, from a person you loved for 20 years, via an E-Mail. Come on now! (?) At least, come over here, and spit the news in my face.

    At the very least.

    Apart from the above, I have to say the following, which are quite more important.

    Firstly, I saw you refer to the drumming skills, and some other people in the band put you down for that. Well, fuck that. The simple input I hear in “Fjara” its just ingenious, and that song wouldn’t be greatest with No other damn drummer in the world. Its perfect as it is. As most of your songs are.

    Secondly, I really think that there’s No way that this can come to a good end. Step out of it man. Solstafir, even though, it was your band, its really something past now. Even if you got together again, things wouldn’t be the same, and I think that in your heart you know this as well.

    Lastly, I must admit, I was saddened by these news, as I always considered the wonderful music of Solstafir, a result of a Band Effort. Well – time will tell- and Success can Test anyone as good, as his worst Enemy.

    But, most important of all, one positive thought came to my mind, and well, I guess without that, I really, wouldn’t be writing this post.

    Think of Lemmy, when he got fired, in the middle of a Tour, by Hawkwind. Which was the real brand name, back then. He must have been really desolate. Caught for drug abuse, in a foreign country, and abandoned by the very teammates with whom he was sharing the fun, the days before. And the replacement appearing in moments. The tour did continue. Well, that should have been a bloody wake up call.

    But

    Otherwise we wouldn’t have Motorhead, would we?

    Mate, go On your way. Being a Rocker, and a free spirit, and one with your Talent, you can accomplish Wonderful things, even though watching the other guys become as Huge as Madonna, or whatever. Wish them good Luck, and say to them “I ‘ll See you in Hell, buddies. Love you” Its just the way it is.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Orestis Esperinos says:

    You cannot be, with Someone who doesn’t want you to. Even if they ‘re Wrong.

    Write this down, on my Tombstone.

    Like

  15. Just read about it.. I hope you are (at least a bit) ok right now? I guess there is not much that we can say since we were not there and do not know all the details.
    Keep your head up (but please not in a hanging-from-a-rope kind of way) and your hands on your work. Do something great with them, that is what they are made for.

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Nilsson says:

    Thanks for your perspective and statement. First of all, don’t say you’re bad drummer because your style fits perfectly to solstafirs music. It’s not how technical you are or how fast you can play it’s all about how to get the “feeling” and that you doing more than well. I’m saying this because I’m a drummer as well.

    Then after reading this i must say that this is very unmature way to fire you. Kindergartenlevel like we say here in Sweden. But the rest of the band seems to ignore all your attempts to have some kind of dialogue with them, that say what kind of mature level they live in.

    I wish all the best for you, and your greedy co-founder all the worst. May onions grow on his belly.

    Like

  17. Tom Ottmar says:

    I have always been a loyal fan, now the band is dead it will never be the same. Thanks for all the wonderful misic, you will always be fondly remembered for your part in the band. Good luck to you in your new endavours and where they lesd you

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Pingback: So my personal profile is blocked from posting on Sólstafir’s Facebook page | Sólstafir

  19. Boris Meyer says:

    This is a real sad story. Anyway, you were talking about “you limited skills” in drumming. I never thought about that. Solstafir isn’t Porcupine Tree. It’s not required having a world class technical drummer. Solstafir needs a drummer who’s doing the right hit at the right time. So, in my opinion you did a great job. Technical wanking shit isn’t Solstafir. Anyway, as a drummer I like your work. And I dislike the way you were kicked from this Band. For me and other people I know who loved this Band, this Band isn’t the same anymore. Because of you aren’t part of it anymore. I wish you all the best what ever you are planning. You’re a good guy. And thank you for the things you did with Solstafir. And beeing a nice guy live.

    Like

  20. Annika says:

    I will not support a band and a guy that does such a thing. Basically, Sólstafir is dead to me. All the luck for you and thank you for the statement and for make this clear to the fans. You were the heart of the band, now it’s pure crap about money and being famous. They don’t seem to care that much about the fans.

    Like

  21. Hammer says:

    I’m 48 and I really thought I finally found a band that is (or was) like a puzzlepiece falling into place and completing it all. You know this happens only a few times in your life.
    With S. it did (I dare not even mention it’s name, afraid of getting sued… wink wink nudge nudge).
    Saw some live-footage of S. without you and it sucked. Big time!
    I finally have the chance of seeing S. in the Netherlands in a couple of weeks, but I’m not even gonna bother going…
    Not without you.
    I know it will never happen again but if it’s any consolation: strip any band from (bass)guitar(s) and big ego’s (especially!), what does that leave?
    RIght. The base of it all: drums. The base.
    Sure there might be some better drummers, but that’s not the point! Look at RIngo Starr! Het made the Beatles complete! You made S. complete!
    It doesn’t matter if you’re a superdrummer or an average drummer! YOU made the band complete with your own style! And that’s what counts!
    Like Metallica said: “Fuck ’em all and fucking no regret!!!” You hear?

    Like Annika (above in the comments) says: S. is dead to me now.

    All the best,

    Hammer

    Liked by 1 person

  22. My bands are Opeth, Mastodon, Behemoth, Porcupine Tree, and most of all Crippled Black Phoenix, but, after ‘stumbling’ upon S. approximately 3 months ago, they were immediately added to my playlists – your music is uplifting and unique at the same time. Bizarrely I listen to them most at the gym (!). But then I read this blog post from you and it tainted everything for me. I have been in bands and I actually left the last one because the music we were producing was not for me – the other band members gave in to the ‘leader’ and pursued a style of music I did not want to play, and they are suffering now (in my opinion!!) for making that decision. To read your post (knowing that there is often 2 sides to every story….) rang so many truths with me. If you have a gift, which you obviously do, you should use it … don’t leave the industry, you give/gave people pleasure in doing what you did. Take care, Iain.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Anssi says:

    I’m sure You wil get over it sooner or later and i’m sure You feel already much better. You are 37 now and You’ve still got a very long life ahead. Many things will come and go and You’ll find and discover new inspiration in Your life. Just be patient, wait and You’ll see!! 🙂

    Like

  24. I am sorry to hear about your departure… and can only hope the rest of the band fully understands Sólstafir will never be complete without you… and that technical skills only account for 10%. The remaining 90 are made of hard work, passion and a touch of geniality… which you have. ‘Fjara’ wouldn’t have been the same without you. Stay true to yourself. MRR

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Annelise says:

    Hello, Guðmundur. We never met in person because I never had the chance to see any of your concerts, since the fact that I live in South America.
    I found out about Sólstafir on 2013, looking for new bands. Ever since then I never stopped loving the band, although I didn’t have anyone to talk about you (because you’re not too popular where I live) so it made me kinda leave Sólstafir behind, which means I slowly stopped searching up for news on you guys, and kept only listening to your music – which I truly apologize for, since the fact that I did not see THIS coming.
    I can not help but feeling sadly upset about this statement.
    Even though I can’t – and I won’t – take sides on this, I must say, you did an amazing job with the band for the last 20 years. And I’m really thankful for that. I really appreciate all you’ve done for the fans and for the band (I should also say that I can’t believe your bandmates were such a bunch of assholes to you, and that I’m quite disappointed with them because of that).
    Please let us know if you ever start releasing music again – I’ll be pleased to give it a listen.
    Wish you all the best,
    Annelise

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Michael says:

    I feel great empathy for you my friend. As an aspiring drummer myself, I want to say that you and your ex band have been a great inspiration to me and I thank you for your great effort. Although it’s harder to appreciate these albums now with this idea in the back of my mind…

    You’ve shown yourself to be an extremely hardworking man! I can’t believe the rest of the band never seemed to give you the respect you earned for that… I suppose they’ve grown used to it or something.

    I hope you are able to do what you love as you move forward. I checked out your photography and I really love it, I’m thinking of purchasing some later on after I’ve done a student job and when some minor issues with my credit card are dealt with. Hopefully you ship internationally ’cause I’m from Europe 😉 I’ve always loved your unique art that you put in the band, I never knew it was you who was the creator behind all that art!

    Even though you might not be rewarded for all of your effort now, I want to tell you that your work echoes across the globe for all sorts of people to still enjoy. Many may not know the full truth but you’ve done all you could. We learn from these experiences. It seems to be very important that the work should be divided across the whole band fairly and everyone has to be determined to progress.

    Stay firm brother, joy and sadness are life’s free gifts.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Pingback: Festival de-o seară | Jurnal de lector™

  28. nunatak says:

    Hello Guðmundur

    Solstafir has meant everything to me for the past few years…sadly I didnt know anything about this incident until today. As I read your statement tears rolled down my cheek.
    For me it is clear that I have decided not to visit any concerts anymore and will not spend another cent on the remainder of the band. I tell you what: even though it sounds stupid, but justice will prevail
    Unfortunately you will watch the band being unsuccessful and smaller from now on until it dies.
    They will not survive without you.
    Solstafir is yours and will stay in your heart
    Good luck from Austria, Vienna from the mountains and the woods

    Liked by 1 person

  29. What a lot of people don’t realise is what a person can bring to something. For me your style of playing fitted perfectly with the feel and soul of the band, like a steady pulse you brought out the best of each of them. They may feel they have moved on but in fact all they have done is remove a part of the soul which was Solstafir. I saw you guys in London and was blown away by the intensity of your music alas it won’t be the same band without you so thank you for the great songs and good luck with all things new and wonderful which i’m sure will happen.

    Like

  30. Wallace says:

    I know I’m late to the game, but I didn’t read or hear anything about this matter until November. Now that I’ve read your statements and made my mind up about the whole thing, I just wanted to let you know that I totally support you. I know I can’t do much from here but just know that there are many people that like you and that are really sad about the fact that you’re not in the band anymore. I always was a huge fan of Solstafir but having read about the way your “friends” treated you over this has made it impossible for me to further support the band let alone going to a gig and look into their faces knowing what has been going on. I hope you’re doing better now, I read you’re doing something truck-related in Iceland now 🙂 Anyways, I’ll stay tuned and I hope you won’t give up on music! Regarding your drumming skills: Your drumming made the music unique and great. Without your drumming the band wouldnt have been that successful, I can tell you that. Plus I always say: playing with emotion always beats just having skills! Hope to read from you soon!

    Cheers from Vienna!

    Liked by 1 person

  31. MrJoeCurr says:

    Im a very late addition to this as I only found out now: Guðmundur, if you have the means and the fight left in you then you should go to war with your former comrades. Most people will tell you to move on, forgive and forget blah blah blah but as you have pointed out; this is your lifes work and no one (no matter who they are) has the right to take that away from you. No one. I saw you in 2009 and at hallowe’en time in Dublin 2013 & thoroughly enjoyed it (though i had to leave early). The financial part of this aside, which you said was a massive burden on your part, this band was your baby and the last 2 decades of your life – you deserve to get what you’re owed; be it closure, royalties or respect. What happened to you is wrong plain and simple. Right and Wrong still matter in this world so go after the bastards with everything you can muster.

    To the remaining band members – this decision could be what kills Solstafir. Hope you’re proud

    Liked by 1 person

  32. maniacbatou says:

    Hello,
    Mr. Pálmason I hope i understand all of that what you have written (it would be easier if you could speak german^^) and I hope you and the band will read this because I mean it seriously.
    I can say that it was maybe a failure to make this problem public but we are all human and humans do failures. Let the past behind you and try step for step find the real causes of this seperation. I had like you a friend my whole life long, but we were seperating por friendship too, but after years and new perspectives we talked about the problems and started again. Sorry for my bad english, but I wanted to help you

    Like

  33. Shotaro Yatsu says:

    I’ve been a fan of Solstafir for a few years now, but I just found about this… really late on the news. I’m very saddened to know that something like this has happened. There were elements in your story that I could relate too. Few things feel worse than to being unappreciated, feeling worthless, and to feel like your best effort under best of intentions weren’t good enough, all because of a few senseless action by someone that means a lot to you. I’m really sorry that your world turned upside down.

    I was just listening to Otta, but it just got harder to enjoy Solstafir’s music. I will continue to appreciate older works, but I won’t be buying any more new releases.

    Liked by 1 person

  34. hypnos says:

    Guðmundur…you ARE Sólstafir! Don’t you dare to think of yourself anything less than that. You are also the perfect drummer for that band, so don’t think of yourself as limited, because your heart which is required for this kind of music is not limited at all. Do you think Hellhammer himself would fit there any better? I’d say no…
    I keep my fingers crossed for your lawsuit.

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Nepenthe says:

    Jesus fucking Christ. I first listened to Köld in 2011 and was blown away. Since then I’ve pretty much consumed your music in a weekly basis, and I get to know this shit happened KNOW? Well then: Guðmundur, FUCK THEM. They were pretty much allowed to form another band if they wanted to, but take Sòlstafir away from you? As someone said above me, that’s the shit that might get someone killed. It’s beyond me how much of a fucking piece of shit someone needs to be to do such a thing. I just wish you two things: to get all the money that belongs to you through the lawsuit, and to be able to still make great music in half a century you have yet to live. That’s a whole fucking lot, don’t let it waste.

    Yeah, it’s so easy to say it, but as in any relationship, you invest so much just to left so empty handed that you feel the world crumbling beneath you. FUCK that feeling. It will perish just like Sòlstafir will perish too. Give it time, which is the hardest thing to do: to give it time. But either you want to do that or not, time still goes by and you will eventually get up from bed and say “oh yeah fuck that”. The only way you can make that moment to come faster is by making something else. Anything, music related if possible man, because I love your drumming. I fucking despise this “virtuoso” shit trend nowadays. Soul and just the soul is what matters. So do something, do another something and do that other something too. Get busy, die busy. This shit will be left behind and new things will come. Suffer through this, yeah, you have no other option, no human has it in moments like this, but don’t you fucking forget you have a whole life to dedicate to something ahead.

    Even if you don’t get to read this, all my strength from the Canary Islands. I really hope that in the almost two years since this shitstorm you feel so much better.

    Have a nice life, man.

    Liked by 1 person

  36. Orestis Esperinos says:

    New Song is Out

    It Sucks So badly.

    Well, what were we (was) Talking About.

    Success may Test one, as Hard as His Worst Enemy would have.

    R.I.P. Solstafir

    Really Saddens me to Say, as it was my favorite band.

    This new song sounds like a mix of worst-Era U2 and the ghost of Solstafir. REALLY Crappy Stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Orestis Esperinos says:

      So damn weak attempt for a Stadium Crowd pleaser Song. Weak. Plus, the Vocals sound really pitiful among these Supermarket Riffs. Woe. 1-2 good Riffs (1 is a softcore reroll bit of “Pale Rider”) reminding us that this was Once an Important band. Damn.

      Couldn’t have even possibly Imagine that Huge Fail, after Otta.

      Isafold is damn Terrible!

      I should expect for the whole album…yet I see I clear direction here of what the band’s trying to do, so I guess the dissapointment, will be likewise.

      I ‘ll listen it though. And despair.

      Well.

      Hubris and Nemesis.

      . . .

      Liked by 1 person

    • Pedro says:

      Well, I guess Sólstafir is bringing their own demise. Ísafold sounds so… soulless. I got in love with the band because of their sound, but this is so fucking crappy, lame.

      I hope Katla can bring that lost sound back in a full-length: Something dark. And so far, so fucking good.

      Liked by 1 person

  37. treknor says:

    it is 2017 now, and all of this is long gone. I just discovered Sólstafir, and I really love it.. I just google around to know a little more about the band, and I stumble about this mess up stuff. I do not know what happened but I know that really bad things can happen anytime, even in long time friendships. Happens to me a few times, too.

    What I really want to say is, that I’m grateful that you build up this band and I really hope that you are ok now.

    with a little luck I will visit Iceland next year, or by the end of this year .. after 25 years of wanting to, and I can assure you, that all of the music of Sólstafir will travel with me. So thank you again and best wishes to you and your family.

    cheers from Germany

    Like

    • Nothing has changed. I’m forced to fight within a broken system while they benefit from braking the system’s rules. What they have done would be illegal in many other countries (I’m talking about hollowing a business from the inside, having the business paying the expenses and taking the income themselves).
      There has been no justice in this case, None what so ever!

      Like

      • Treknor says:

        well, I would be angry as fuck. However. I can’t judge them or you. Because I’m just in the audience, the public, who should stand back and shut up when the chairs are flying around.

        English is not my mother language, but I hope you understand what I mean and why I have to say it 😉

        anyway. I hope you have a nice day, and do not let this shit dictated your whole time.

        Like

      • No worries, your English is fine, I do understand what you mean.
        About standing back, I guess in most cases that’s true when it’s word against word. But remember in this case the band has offered no good explanations, only a hollow statement written by their manager, and they’ve deleted and blocked everyone that’s dared to ask questions or even mention me or my new band. It’s obvious they have something to hide and they want to silence me and anyone that dares bring this up

        Like

      • treknor says:

        Maybe I got you wrong here, but I will not pick a side.

        I do not know enough to do so. I understand you. Really. But, I am still only a guest.. a visitor. Of course I got an opinion .. but does it really matter? Or is it appropriated (complicated word ..hu!) to give this opinion enough place to speak it out? I do not think so.

        I believe in the old traditions of hospitality, and as a guest, it is not very wise to pick a side. Please do be angry about this 🙂

        Like

      • treknor says:

        something different. I ordered the Katla vinyl 17.04.2017(Ferðalok 7″ep
        Golden Marble) .. but no message that it is shipped. What is going on?

        Like

      • No worries, I’m not angry. Just pointing out the fact that everything they do is to silence me and people who dare mention me or my new band. It’s not their word against mine because they haven’t offered any explanations

        Like

  38. Matt Harlan says:

    Limitations as a drummer? Well, I’m no expert on that topic, except I know what I feel when I listen, and my friend, your drumming is some of the most inspired I’ve ever had the privilege to hear. When I think of kick ass drumming that jumps out and grabs your by the balls I think of 2 people, Glen Sobel who is currently touring with Alice Cooper, and Gummi Palmason of KATLA!!! Your new music is pure kick ass emotion, bring it on!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

